Passes Through

  • Mount Buninyong
  • Buninyong
  • Ballarat
  • Creswick
  • Dean
  • Mollongghip
  • Sailors Falls
  • Daylesford

Wallaby Track

Buninyong to Daylesford
92km walk traversing the Great Dividing Range between Daylesford, Creswick, Ballarat and Buninyong

Creswick Miners Walk

Ballarat Station РCreswick Station   25.5 km

This section of the Track allows you to follow in the Creswick miners’ footsteps. The walk begins at the Ballarat Railway Station and winds through Creswick Regional Park and Creswick State Forest.

From Ballarat it follows the Yarrowee Creek Valley to the outskirts of Ballarat, and then heads into the forest past Nuggety Dam and White Swan Reservoir. It goes over the Great Dividing Range through the forest to Slaty Creek (camping available, see Goldfields Track FAQs).

The Track passes the mining dams at Blue Waters and St Georges Lake (swimming and fishing available at St Georges Lake).

Continue on towards Daylesford or go into the township of Creswick, past the visitor information centre to Creswick railway station.

A green Great Dividing Trail entry station is located at Ballarat Station.


Quartz crushing battery, Black Hill
(Lithograph by S. T. Gill, 1854
Collection: Ballarat Fine Art Gallery. Gift of Roland Wrigley Estate, 1979)


Page last updated 12 September 2012