Lake Daylesford – Womans Gully track junction Walk 14.2 km or Ride 7.5 km
The walk and ride routes are almost completely separate with only the last 1 km being shared.
The walking trail takes the Tipperary Walking Track from picturesque Lake Daylesford, a man-made lake that covers the site of the Wombat Flat diggings where gold was first officially reported in 1851, to the track junction in Womans Gully which is a short distance north-east of the Hepburn Springs Reserve. The narrow trail largely hugs the contours of the steep Sailors and Spring Creeks valleys, through foothill forest, hidden away from housing upslope. There are several mineral springs you are free to visit en route.
Sailors Creek was turned inside out in the search for gold in the second half of the 19th century. Mining artefacts and landscapes are studded throughout the bush, which is surprisingly intact, except around Lake Daylesford and between Breakneck Gorge and Golden Spring. At the latter two places, blackberries threaten to overwhelm the Trail and are a constant problem for those who maintain the track.
The bike route leaves Lake Daylesford along the Lerderderg Track of the Great Dividing Trail before heading northwards on a more direct course than the walk route. Before rejoining the walkers near Golden Spring, it passes through the Hepburn Springs Reserve where there’s a full range of facilities for indulging yourself from private spa baths to a spa pool, cafe or European style picnicking with electric barbecues.
Entry stations can be found at Lake Daylesford and Hepburn Springs.
Use the Dry Diggings Track map.
Page last updated 19 December 2017